* * * <u>MEMORANDUM</u> * * *

TO: Members of the Faculty Senate

FROM: Dave Carter

DATE: September 23, 2001

REGARDING: Minutes of the last meeting

* * * * * * * * *

The Faculty Senate meeting of September 21, 2001 was called to order shortly after 2:00. Present were members Rick Appleman, Dave Hobbs, Mary MacLaughlin, Danette Melvin, Jim Handley, Rick Donovan, and Dave Carter. Guests Andrea Stierle and Susan Patton joined us later.

The minutes from the previous meeting (August 31, 2001) were approved.

The chair introduced the topic of removing the word "committee" from our name in the Faculty Handbook and reverting to our original name of "Faculty Senate". There was a general sense of agreement but no formal action was taken.

The chair mentioned that the chancellor would like to see a larger Faculty Salary Committee.

The chair announced the new Faculty Handbook should be out next week.

The chair urged that the Faculty Senate take a role in reviewing the recommendations of the various campus committees and reporting the administration's response to these recommendations.

The Faculty Senate's representation on the various campus committees was reviewed and where a current member was already present, no changes were made. The following members volunteered to be the Faculty Senate's representative on committees that currently do not have such a rep:

Dave Carter to Academic Standards Committee

Danette Melvin to Library Committee

Jim Handley to Student Union/Mill Building/Bookstore Advisory Board

David Hobbs to Telecommunications Committee

Dave Hobbs to the Web Committee

See committee file at end for a complete list.

Discussion about the Collegiate EvaluTenure and Promotion Committee followed with no formal action taken.

Jim Handley gave an update on the latest Benefits Committee meeting, noting that prescription drug costs are the driving factor behind the growing deficit in our benefits program.

The chair announced that the next Board of Regents meeting will be held September 27-28 in Billings, and that he would be available to attend. The Senate agreed that the chair would be the most appropriate person to represent the Tech faculty at the meeting. A question was raised about release time for the chair. In previous years, the senate's budget had been large enough for the chair to secure release time from one 3-credit course per semester. It was suggested that the current chair contact other faculty who had recently served as senate chair (H. Gonshak, D. Stierle, D. Solko) to confirm this.

The issue of evaluation of Department Heads was raised. The motion (Hobbs, Carter) to add the following passage to section 223.1 of the Faculty Handbook was passed:

"The Dean (or Vice Chancellor in situations where the Department Head is also a Dean) shall respond in writing to the Department's comments."

Andrea Stierle joined the meeting and introduced the issue of promoting four non-Ph.D. lab assistant and instructor personnel to new tenure-track positions without a search. Much vehement discussion followed. Susan Patton joined us for much of this discussion.

The following motion (Carter, Hobbs) was made and passed unanimously:

The Faculty Senate requests that the promotion of four Tech personnel into new tenure-track Assistant Professorships be delayed one year and that a formal search for each of these positions be conducted. The Faculty Senate would like to make it clear that our objection to these promotions concerns the procedures being followed and not the personnel concerned.

The next meeting was scheduled for Friday, October 12, at 2pm.

Shortly after 4:00 the meeting was adjourned.

Faculty Senate Representative(s)
MONTANA TECH
Committee Roster 2001-02
Academic Standards Committee Dave Carter
Advising/Retention Steering Committee
Athletic Committee David Hobbs
Benefits Committee (Inter-Unit) Jim Handley
Career Services Advisory Committee

Chancellor's Advisory Committee (2001-02) Kelly Amtmann

Chancellor's Cabinet Richard Donovan

Collegiate Evaluation Committee

Computer Advisory Committee Rick Appleman David Hobbs

Cultural Events Committee Jim Handley

Curriculum Review Committee Kelly Amtmann

Educational Outreach Advisory Committee

Employee Recognition Committee

Enrollment Management Committee

Faculty Advisory Committee for College Relations and Marketing Office

Faculty Senate

Term ends 01-02	Kate Miller	Term ends 02-03	Rick Appleman
Term ends 01-02	David Hobbs	Term ends 02-03	Dave Carter
Term ends 01-02	Kelly Amtmann	Term ends 02-03	Rick Donovan
Term ends 01-02	Mary MacLaughlin	Term ends 02-03	Jim Handley
		Term ends 02-03	Danette Melvin

Faculty Service Committee

General Education Review Committee

Graduate Council

Grievance Committee

<u>Instructional Improvement Committee</u> Rick Appleman Mary MacLaughlin David

Hobbs

Internship Advisory Committee

Library Committee Danette Melvin

Motor Pool Committee Kate Miller

Recycling Committee

Research Advisory Committee David Hobbs

Safety Committee

Salary Advisory Committee David Carter David Hobbs

Scholarship & Financial Aid Committee Danette Melvin

Student Disciplinary Appeals Committee Danette Melvin

Student Union/Mill Building/Bookstore Advisory Board Jim Handley

Telecommunications Committee David Hobbs

Traffic and Parking Committee Jim Handley

WEB Committee David Hobbs

Wellness Committee