MONTANA TECH FACULTY SENATE

Monday, November 22, 2010

MINUTES OF THE MEETING

Members present: Jerry Downey (Vice-Chair), Suzan Gazioglu, , Hal Millegan (Chair), John Nugent, Traci O'Neill, Bill Ryan, Celia Schahczenski,

Heather Shearer, Kirk Waren

Members absent: Rod James

Attending without vote: Doug Abbott

• Communications from Faculty, Administration, Staff, and/or Students:

Doug Abbott presented information about a candidate for an Honorary Doctorate degree from Montana Tech. After discussion, a motion was passed in favor of supporting the Honorary Doctorate Committee's recommendation to award the degree to the individual.

Executive Work Session (Closed meeting)

We discussed the academic schedule, funding mechanisms being contemplated by the Montana University system, and the search process for a new Chancellor.

Hal provided some numbers of faculty and students in different departments for the Faculty Senate to consider in its review of the Faculty Senate By-Laws, particularly Section 1, that describes the size and composition of the Faculty Senate.

The Senate group adjourned at approximately 4:30 pm.

NEXT MEETINGS:

The next meeting will be a regular business meeting, 3 PM, Monday December 6th.

Respectfully submitted,

Kirk Waren Secretary