Montana Tech Vice Chancellor Named AAAS Fellow


The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Council has named Dr. Beverly Karplus Hartline, Montana Tech Vice Chancellor of Research and Dean of the Graduate School, as a 2013 AAAS Fellow.

“Montana Tech was aware of Dr. Hartline’s extensive work with young scientists when she interviewed for her current position,” said Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Doug Abbott. “We, as a campus, are very fortunate to have an individual with a background such as Bev’s working to grow research expenditures on our campus as well enrollment in our graduate programs. Bev brings a tremendous amount of energy to her position and our faculty and students have already benefited from her work during her relatively brief period of time on campus. Dr. Hartline played an integral role in working with the team that developed the collaborative PhD in Materials Science with UM-Missoula and MSU-Bozeman. With her experience in industry, as well as her relationships with the National Labs and the National Science Foundation, we know that great things will result from her work. We are privileged to have an AAAS fellow on our campus.”

Each year the Council elects members whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.” The AAAS Council elected 388 members as Fellows of AAAS for the year 2013. These individuals will be recognized for their contributions to science and technology during the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago, which will take place February 13 to 17.
This prestigious honor was presented to Dr. Hartline for a life-long commitment to and leadership of the science and technology enterprise, and for fostering the success of early career scientists from under-represented backgrounds. Dr. Hartline, the only Montana representative on the list, was recognized under the physics category.